Team Focus - Come On In And Enjoy The Company! Home 
How To's Create A Ride TF Guest Map TF Merchandise TF Members Rides TF Toolbar Download Register

 Moderated by: teamfocus
New Topic Reply Print
Real or Fake email from Ebay?? - Speak Easy - Off Topics - Team Focus - Come On In And Enjoy The Company!

 Not logged in  
 Login
 Register
 Home
 Calendar
 Members
 Help

Search
Search
Search by username

Recent Topics


AuthorPost
03 white zx3
Team Focus Premier Member


Joined: Sun Jan 23rd, 2005
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 621
Year/Model: 
Occupation: Forklift Driver
Interests: Hockey!
Male/Female: 
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Mon Mar 21st, 2005 11:22 pm
QuoteReply
Dear eBay Member,

Due to recent account takeovers and unauthorized listings, eBay is introducing a new account verification method. From time to time, randomly selected accounts (seller and/or buyer) are subjected to an advanced verification process based on our merchant accounts/bank relations and customers credit card. eBay may also request in an email message scanned/faxed copies of one or more photo ID's. Your account confirmation may go wrong if your credit card/bank account is expired, or if you have changed your credit card number, billing address etc. without notifying us about the change. Subject of this verification process are also the accounts that have unpaid dues to eBay.
Your account is not suspended, but if in 48 hours after you receive this message your account is not confirmed we reserve the right to suspend your eBay registration. If you received this notice and you are not the authorized account holder, please be aware that it is in violation of eBay policy to represent oneself as another eBay user. Such action may also be in violation of local, national, and/or international law. eBay is committed to assist law enforcement with any inquires related to attempts to misappropriate personal information with the intent to commit fraud or theft. Information will be provided at the request of law enforcement agencies to ensure that perpetrators are prosecuted to the full extent of the law.

Note: If this is the second time you receive this notice, it might be because you have made a mistake when you entered your details or that the account was not updated at all.


To confirm your identity with us click here:
http://signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayIsession.dll?userconfirm&ssPageName=h?-fom:sin_US

We apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may cause you and we would like to thank you for your cooperation as we review this matter.


Respectfully,
Trust and Safety Department
eBay Inc.





Copyright © 1995-2005 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.


secure-team@ebay.com eBay Requiers Your Action..! Service@ebay.com

email came from aw-update@ebay.com <aw-update@ebay.com>

It looks legit... so do I really need to do this? Has anyone else gotten one?



____________________
"Do not walk behind me, for I may not lead. Do not walk ahead of me, for I may not follow. Do not walk beside me either, just fuck off and leave me alone. "
Back To Top QuoteReply

teamfocus
TF Administrator


Joined: Mon May 24th, 2004
Location: Redwood City, California USA
Posts: 4647
Year/Model: 2001 ZX3 ...
Occupation: Whatever suits me at the time!
Interests: Cars, Fishkeeping
Male/Female: Male
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Mon Mar 21st, 2005 11:32 pm
QuoteReply
Sounds like a scam to me. First sign was the url. It should be https the s standing for secure. Notice no s http://signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayIsession.dll?userconfirm&ssPageName=h?-fom:sin_US

Here is a legit ebay url https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn&UsingSSL=1&pUserId=&co_partnerId=2&siteid=0&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fmy.ebay.com%3A80%2Fws%2FeBayISAPI.dll%3FMyeBay%26ssPageName%3DH%253AH%253AMYEBAY%253AUS&pageType=1883

I would forward on the email to Ebay cutomer service.

Do not reply to it



____________________
Rick (Rokie)
rtdring@yahoo.com
Back To Top QuoteReply

03 white zx3
Team Focus Premier Member


Joined: Sun Jan 23rd, 2005
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 621
Year/Model: 
Occupation: Forklift Driver
Interests: Hockey!
Male/Female: 
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Mon Mar 21st, 2005 11:43 pm
QuoteReply
Thanks!
I wanted to ask first before I did anything. I never would have noticed the address. It all looked halfway legit.
Thank you!



____________________
"Do not walk behind me, for I may not lead. Do not walk ahead of me, for I may not follow. Do not walk beside me either, just fuck off and leave me alone. "
Back To Top QuoteReply

teamfocus
TF Administrator


Joined: Mon May 24th, 2004
Location: Redwood City, California USA
Posts: 4647
Year/Model: 2001 ZX3 ...
Occupation: Whatever suits me at the time!
Interests: Cars, Fishkeeping
Male/Female: Male
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Mon Mar 21st, 2005 11:53 pm
QuoteReply
Glad to help! :)



____________________
Rick (Rokie)
rtdring@yahoo.com
Back To Top QuoteReply

Chelly03PZEV
TF Administrator


Joined: Wed May 26th, 2004
Location: Always On The Ocean, Maine USA
Posts: 3590
Year/Model: 2003 2.3 PZEV ...
Occupation: Broadband Technical Support Rep
Interests: Focus & Cars in General - Dogs (animals) - many ...
Male/Female: Female
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Tue Mar 22nd, 2005 12:51 am
QuoteReply
Rule of thumb - If any company sends and e-mail asking you for information: Personal, passwords, accounts etc - IT IS A SCAM!

Best way to deal with these is to report the e-mail address or IP (if you can get it) from the e-mailer and send it to the actual company itself.

I get at least one a week from various financial institutions.  Including those that I do and don't have accounts with.

A company will not solicit your information.



____________________
Get in, Sit down, Shut up and HANG ON!
Back To Top QuoteReply

03 white zx3
Team Focus Premier Member


Joined: Sun Jan 23rd, 2005
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 621
Year/Model: 
Occupation: Forklift Driver
Interests: Hockey!
Male/Female: 
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Tue Mar 22nd, 2005 01:03 am
QuoteReply
You know, normaly I would know that and I know the signs (pretty much) to look for. I don't know what made me think this one was legit.
Oh well at least I didn't send them anything.
Thanks!



____________________
"Do not walk behind me, for I may not lead. Do not walk ahead of me, for I may not follow. Do not walk beside me either, just fuck off and leave me alone. "
Back To Top QuoteReply

Mr. Versatile
TF Senior Moderator


Joined: Wed May 26th, 2004
Location: Ohio USA
Posts: 3211
Year/Model: '02 ZX3
Occupation: Special Ed Teacher
Interests: Cars, bicycle road racing, playing my sax.
Male/Female: Male
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Tue Mar 22nd, 2005 02:21 am
QuoteReply
teamfocus wrote: Sounds like a scam to me.

I would forward on the email to Ebay cutomer service.

Do not reply to it
;werd



____________________
If you can't read this, you're illiterate.
Back To Top QuoteReply

lil duratec
TF Family Member


Joined: Sun Feb 6th, 2005
Location: Morgantown, West Virginia USA
Posts: 842
Year/Model: 
Occupation: Medical Student
Interests: 
Male/Female: 
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Tue Mar 22nd, 2005 03:37 am
QuoteReply
Yeah your best bet is always to ignore those, eBay even says they'll never ask you for sensitive info over email (most legit places don't).
If you want though, and I always do this, just click Forward and send the email exactly as is, title and all to spoof@ebay.com I always do that to mine because even though I'm sure they're scams, it might help the eBay fraud dept to know what the scammers are sending out in their name. You'll receive an automatic message saying they got your Fwd, then a little later another one saying, "Indeed it was a fake, this didn't come from eBay"
Sometimes I got 3-4 of these eBay ones a month, I must've ended up on someone's list... Once I got a similar message from a bank, saying something like my account was gonna be closed. Too bad I'd never held an account at that bank, nice try, scam artists.



____________________
~Amanda~
Back To Top QuoteReply

spastik-foci
TF Family Member
 

Joined: Fri Mar 18th, 2005
Location:  
Posts: 17
Year/Model: 
Occupation: 
Interests: 
Male/Female: 
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Tue Mar 22nd, 2005 03:40 am
QuoteReply
Report it to ebay, I have had many like that.  They have a group just for this, any info to them is helpful.

Back To Top QuoteReply

ProjectFocusFast
TF Senior Moderator


Joined: Tue Jun 1st, 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 1301
Year/Model: 2006 ZX3, 1980 RX7 ...
Occupation: Powered Industrial Truck Operator
Interests: Focii, gaming, cars in general!
Male/Female: Male
Status:  Offline
Mana: 
 Posted: Fri Mar 25th, 2005 09:29 pm
QuoteReply
03 white zx3 wrote: Thanks!
I wanted to ask first before I did anything. I never would have noticed the address. It all looked halfway legit.
Thank you!
I actually DID click on one once... luckily it was old and eBay had already busted it, so it gave me a "phishers" message.



____________________
Back To Top QuoteReply

Current time is 12:02 pm
Team Focus - Come On In And Enjoy The Company! > Off Topics > Speak Easy > Real or Fake email from Ebay??


Arctic2 theme designed by: The Cat Dragged Inn
Powered by WowBB 1.7 - Copyright © 2003-2006 Aycan Gulez
Page processed in 0.2919 seconds (10% database + 90% PHP). 20 queries executed.